Sunday December 10, 2017

Kiir Disolves South Sudan States Establishes 28 States to “Decentralise” The Government

JUBA – Newly established states in a decree by Lt. General Salva Kiir Mayardiit today (with their new states capitals in bracket). The Opposition SPLM-IO see the newly established 28 states by leader of SPLM-JUBA faction Salva Kiir as copycat of their plan of 21 states in would be federal Republic of South Sudan.

Remember also that in 30 days, the existing state names such as Central Equatoria state, Eastern Equatoria state, Western Equatoria State, Upper Nile State, Lakes State, Northern Bhar El Ghazal state and Warrap state will cease to exist according to his decree.
a) Equatoria Based States:

1 Imatong state (Torit)

2 Namunyong state(Kapoeta )

3 Maridi state (Maridi)

4 Amadi state (Mundri)

5 Budwei state (Yambio)

6 Jubek State (Juba)

7 terekeka state (terekeka state)

8 yei river state (Yei state)

b) Bhar el gazal based states:

9 Wau state (Wau the capital)

10 Aweil state (Aweil state capital)

11 Lol state (Raja)

12 Aweil east state (Wanjo state capital)

13 Twic State (Mayan aboum)

14 Gokrial east (Kwajok)

15 Tony state (tony state capital)

16 eastern lake state (yirol capital)

17 Western lakes state (rumbek capital)
18 Gok state (cuebek)

c) Upper Nile Based states:

19 Northern Lich state (bentiu)

20 Southern lich (panyijiar)

21 Ruweng state (pariang state capital)

22 eastern nile state (Malakal)

23 Jonglei state (Bor)

24 Westerm Nile state (kodok)

25 Western Bieh state (Ayod)

26 eastern bieh state (akobo)

27 Latjor state (Nasir)

28 Boma state (Pibor)


Bith Jonathan

Bith Jonathan is an award-winning journalist and columnist. He holds a bachelor’s degree in mass media and journalism from the prestigious kenyan school of mass media.

East Africa: Kenya, Rwanda, Uganda and South Sudan Readies to Stem Crime via Phones

South Sudan Parliamentary Speaker, Magok Rundial in Gambella for Annual Event

You may also like:

Do you like Upper Nile Times? please follow us!

Web Design BangladeshBangladesh Online Market