Tuesday December 12, 2017

President Kiir Announced 28 States Governors

South Sudan's President Salva Kiir addresses a news conference at the presidential palace in Juba, Dec. 16, 2013, after clashes between rival factions. (Credit: Reuters)
Bith Jonathan


JUBA – Source in Juba disclosed to The Upper Nile Times that President Kiir announced 28 States Governors.  The move comes at which time both the government and the opposition in Pagak are gearing up for full implementation of the Compromise Peace Agreement.  The advent of the Advanced Team brought the spirit of unity and harmony to prevail across the country including the diaspora.

But, given this announcement, President Kiir’s move has seen new rise of sharp criticism from the people of South Sudan.  Our correspondence, inside Juba, has seen mixed reactions in many forms.

Some expressed fear that President Kiir is setting South Sudan back to December 15th, 2013 when more than 20,000 thousands Nuer people were brutally attacked and killed by the Presidential Guards incited by the President Salva Kiir (Dinka). Salva Kiir’s Presidential Guards publicly shout: “Kill the Nuer.” therefore any unnecessary situation that this announcement might have caused will completely rest in President Kiir’s onus.

Whereas others expressed their reaction saying the “announcement is a complete declaration of war across the country.”  The others are calling for JMEC to urge Kiir to withdraw such an announcement when South Sudanese are preparing for Christmas again and for the agreement to be implemented.

The Upper Nile Times has seen the list of names of the appointed Governors for 28 states are:

1: Natisio Loluke, Imatong state

2: Luois Lobong Lojore, Namorunyang state

3: Afikaano Monday, Maridi state

4: Joseph Kachipo, Amadi state

5: Patrick Raphael, Gbudwe state

6: Augustino Jadalla Wani, Jubek state

7: Juma Ali Malou, Terekeka state

8: David Lokonga Moses, Yei state

9: Elias Waya Nyipuoc, Wau state

10: Ronald Ruai Deng, Aweil state

11: Rezik Zechariah Hassan, Lol state

12: Deng Deng Akui, Aweil East state

13: Bona Panek, Twic state

14: Abraham Gum Makuac, Gogrial state

15: Akec Tong Aleu, Tonj state

16: Rin Tuec, Eastern Lakes state

17: Abraham Makoi Bol, Western Lakes state

18: Madang Majok, Gok state

19: Dr. Joseph Monytuil, Northern Liech state

20: Teker Riek Dong, Southern Liech state

21: Mayol Kur Akuei, Ruweng state

22: Philip Aguer Panyang, Jonglei state

23: Dr. William Othuon, Western Nile state

24: Chol Thon Balook, Eastern Nile state

25: James Kok Ruey, Western Bieh state

26: Peter Bol Kong, Eastern Bieh state

27: Peter Lam Both, Latjoor state

28: Baba Medan Konyi, Boma state

However, the leadership of the SPLM – IO has not yet issued its position given the fact that the Team of Advanced Group has set foot inside Juba the Capital.  Follow up will be done with the IO and will be brought to public as soon as they make their position known to the people of South Sudan and the world at large.

More news to follow, stay tune!

The Juba Massacre South Sudan: A Nation Torn Apart by the Blood of the Innocents

EDITORIAL: One year on. Remembering the Juba Massacre


Bith Jonathan

Bith Jonathan is an award-winning journalist and columnist. He holds a bachelor’s degree in mass media and journalism from the prestigious kenyan school of mass media.

General Taban Deng Gai meets President Kiir at State House

Kiir must revoke the 28 States decree or peace agreement must be scrapped – SPLMIO supporters warn

You may also like:

Do you like Upper Nile Times? please follow us!

Web Design BangladeshBangladesh Online Market